Ms. Bardy, Teacher, ESL Urban Science Academy March 6, 2016

Positive feedback and reinforcement: Ms. Bardy’s Story

Ms. Bardy, Teacher, ESL Urban Science Academy March 6, 2016

I was born in Poland, and have been in the U.S. for twenty-five years. I was inspired to become a teacher by someone I worked with while I was in high school. Over two years, during my study hall periods in high school, I would go to an elementary school and teach English to a Polish boy. I worked with an entire class of first graders when I was 18 years old, and have been teaching since.

Attendance is not really a problem in my classroom, although the school has had chronically absent students every year prior to this year, missing 40, 50, 80 days of instruction. A lot of our students help take care of siblings, take care of their parents, and have different obligations. This year I don’t have that problem, but I do use Kinvolved to contact parents for reminders and to praise children.

Kinvolved has been totally helpful– I use my cell phone, but sending messages every day was too much. To be able to send a (text) message from a computer– to me, that’s priceless. I always put my cell phone away. I really like communicating with the parents, but I like doing it when I need to– I won’t remember to do it after lunch, or after school. I found out about Kinvolved last May when I went to a college fair at Baruch and I met one of the cofounders. I got her business card, and then told our principal about KinvolvedSo when I found out you guys were coming in September, I was SUPER excited. I’ve raved about Kinvolved – I think it’s perfect for us!

I’ve always used my cell phone to communicate, so that hasn’t really changed, but two things have changed for me: I’m able to communicate with parents right away, as opposed to remembering to do it later, and, I know right away who’s responding to invitations. When I did class presentations back in January I knew right away within an hour who was coming to watch the presentations, so that was great. I was able to tell students, “Your mom just replied to me and she’s coming– you’d better be on your best behavior!” One thing I really like is to be able to send a mass message to everybody at the same time, that’s really great. Before Kinvolved, when I would send a mass message, people would reply, and it would be sent to everyone else, saying, “please remove me from this message.” This doesn’t happen on Kinvolved, and I like that.

