blog_tatyana

Student Spotlight: Tatyana Campbell

blog_tatyana-rectangle

My name is Tatiana, and I’m a fourth-year visual arts student at Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing Visual Arts. I live in the Bronx, about an hour away from school, but I’m proud to say that I’ve maintained 100% general attendance for all three years I’ve been here so far.

blog_tatyana-quote

Last year, I often came late to first period P.E. class. When my teacher warned me that I wouldn’t be eligible to graduate if I were to continue this pattern of lateness, I decided it was time for a change. I started making sure that I would get out of bed at 5 o’clock on the dot every morning, so that I could be on time and do what I needed to pass this class. The process definitely wasn’t easy for me for at first. My mother started getting text messages from my teacher through KiNVO after every tardiness, and then she got a phone call. After that incident, my mom made me wake up early every day, an hour before sunrise, to make sure that I had enough time for travel. KiNVO helps her know what’s happening during each period and how I am doing, even though she can’t always make the trip to my school.

